Playoff Discussion

First of all, I hope everyone had a happy holidays. Second of all, the regular season is over :(. Third of all, the following playoff analysis:

The teams:

NFC (1. Carolina Panthers (15-1); 2. Arizona Cardinals (13-3); 3. Minnesota Vikings (11-5); 4. Washington Redskins (9-7); 5. Green Bay Packers (10-6); 6. Seattle Seahawks (10-6))

AFC (1. Denver Broncos (12-4); 2. New England Patriots (12-4); 3. Cincinnati Bengals (12-4); 4. Houston Texans (9-7); 5. Kansas City Chiefs (11-5); 6. Pittsburgh Steelers (10-6))

Analysis:

  1. Of course I’m going to start out by comparing my beginning of the season predictions to the reality of the situation. I got 4 of the 6 AFC playoff teams correct (0 correct seeds). I had Indianapolis in and they were barely beat out in the division by Houston. I also had San Diego in and that was WAY off the mark, plus Cincinnati killed it this year. I also got 4 of the 6 NFC playoff teams correct (0 correct seeds). I had New Orleans in which was WAY off the mark, especially with Crystal-Caliber Carolina this year. I also had Philadelphia in, which would have happened had Cousins not caught fire randomly for Washington.
  2. Now a look at the matchups and my predicted winners: 2016 Playoff Predictions
  3. I know what you’re thinking: “Mr. TheHaysWay! You’re an idiot!” Right? Below are my justifications for all of the playoff teams in order of losses.
  4. Houston Texans-This team begins and ends with JJ Watt. He is actually the best offensive player (not named DeAndre Hopkins) that they have right now. While defense wins championships, you’ve gotta be able to score and the Texans just can’t.
  5. Cincinnati Bengals-It’s not that their playoff curse is real, it’s just that the Pittsburgh Steelers always make magic happen in the playoffs. Sorry Cincy, better matchup next year.
  6. Minnesota Vikings-You might think this was a hard pick…it wasn’t. The NFC North has looked TERRIBLE down the stretch and did you see Seattle in Arizona this past weekend? The Vikings don’t stand a chance!
  7. Green Bay Pakcers-I restate: The NFC North has looked TERRIBLE down the stretch. Aaron Rodgers is going to have to stop looking like RG3 if he wants a chance to beat Kirk Cousins out in Washington. See what I did there?
  8. Kansas City Chiefs-Let me remind everybody that Alex Smith is the QB and Jamaal Charles is still injured. This team is going to come back to Earth and despite the blowout of New England in KC last season, this one is in New England.
  9. Pittsburgh Steelers-Do you remember the magic I was talking about before? At some point skill comes into play, and good luck finding that without Le’Veon Bell and possibly DeAngelo Williams in the backfield.
  10. Carolina Panthers-This one was tough. Carolina has been REALLY good this season. I can’t really justify this one, I’ve just got a feeling.
  11. Washington Redskins-I almost picked them over Arizona. But, they suck on the road and Arizona will be out for blood after that embarrassment last weekend.
  12. New England Patriots-Tom Brady may actually be superman, but he isn’t superMEN. Ultimately, the Pats’ injuries catch up to them in an already difficult matchup in Denver.
  13. Seattle Seahawks-I’ll own up to it: I picked Seattle vs Arizona in the NFC title game because it’s a sexy matchup. I actually was going to pick Seattle to win it again after witnessing that blowout last weekend, but Arians might just be coach of the century getting his squad of vets re-motivated.
  14. Arizona Cardinals-It’s not that I don’t think the Cards are capable, it’s just that I think the Broncos are more capable.
  15. Denver Broncos-This is Peyton’s last chance and he is going to make it count, then ride off into the sunset. His defense will also help him out A LOT because defense wins championships and Denver has that great of a defense. Basically, Denver will show up to this Super Bowl because they don’t have a choice after their last Super Bowl performance.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, if anybody has any predictions of their own, criticisms, or threats (I’m really sorry Carolina and Cincinnati, I promise I hope I’m wrong) feel free to post a comment (except for the latter of those three). Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

