Daily Update: May 16, 2016

“Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.” – John F Kennedy

“With out passion you don’t have energy, with out energy you have nothing.” – Donald Trump

I know in the past I’ve made some politically biased posts. I went with two quotes today to avoid that. I will say that one of these two people I like more than the other, however, I will not say which one. Instead, I’ll analyze both quotes. Just to balance everything out in the political spectrum, I will analyze Trump’s quote first because Kennedy’s quote was the first one on the post. I think passion connects to what I was talking about with love and friendship. Love and friendship give you the energy to get things done. I have mentioned before that I try to be positive for the people around me, and that is especially true for my friends because they make me happy too. Friendship and love is the support system that inspires me to do things. Change is a tricky subject. Change is definitely necessary because nothing is perfect. If change didn’t exist, neither would improvement. On the flip side of the coin, there is a point where change can be bad. It’s just as the famous saying goes: “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” I absolutely agree that it is important not to get stuck in the moment. Life is hard enough even if you do prepare for what’s ahead. If you don’t, it may very well be impossible. Anyway, I thought the one about change was relevant to the Buffalo Bills in today’s NFL news:

  1. Buffalo Bills WR Sammy Watkins has a broken bone in his foot. His situation parallels that of New England Patriots WR Julian Edelman, who also had a foot injury. He is expected to be back for training camp.
  2. Unfortunately for the Bills, the situation gets much worse. First-round pick DE Shaq Lawson needs shoulder surgery. He is expected to miss around half of the season. So, much like the Jags last year, the Bills will have to wait to see their talented, first-round pass rusher go to work. They will also be missing DE Mario Williams until Lawson’s return.
  3. The Tennessee Titans have released QB Zach Mettenberger. This move is pretty shocking. The Titans have second-year QB Marcus Mariota, but Mettenberger has shown some serious flashes of potential during his time at the least. Enough that, I believe, the Titans could have pulled off a trade to send him to, say, the New York Jets, who STILL haven’t budged on negotiations with QB Ryan Fitzpatrick.
  4. The Carolina Panthers have released CB Brandon Boykin. Boykin was signed this offseason in an effort to improve the Panthers’ CB situation opposite CB Josh Norman. Now, Norman is gone, and so is Boykin. That leaves a lot of responsibility to Carolina’s three rookie CBs.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, leave a comment about the quotes and/or the news, and leave a very much appreciated like. Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

