Daily Update: June 15, 2016

“The best way to find out if you can trust somebody is to trust them.” -Ernest Hemingway, Novelist

Without a strong quote to link to today’s news, I decided to pick a quote regarding a topic that I haven’t discussed much: trust. I picked this quote because it represents a dilemma that many people constantly face: who to trust. My problem is, I truly believe that everybody has good in them, so I do live by this quote in trusting people until they give me a reason not to trust them. Unfortunately, many people take advantage of the trust that is placed in them. It is even worse with the people whom you are close to because you trust them more. I have had that happen before, and it feels horrible realizing that I made such a horrible judgement call just because I really wanted to see the best in a person. There is also the problem of the people you trust not trusting you, which makes it harder for you to trust them. Part of trust is having it go two ways in a relationship. When one person breaks that trust, the other person experiences the feeling of having made a horrible judgement call. I guess what I’m saying is, DO trust people until they give you a reason not to, and NEVER be the person that gives a reason for someone not to trust you. If fewer people took advantage of the trust of others, more people would be faster to trust. A truly trustworthy person is a great person to have as your friend. I’m always as honest and dependable to the people around me as I can be. That, combined with my quickness to trust others, has actually led me to have many trustworthy relationships, despite some of my poor judgement calls. In fact, my poor judgement calls probably occur with less than half of the people I trust. I have a lot of great friends because that is what trust builds. Anyway, I’ve been rambling on for a while because there isn’t a lot of NFL news today, but here is that limited supply of the daily news:

  1. The Baltimore Ravens released OT Eugene Monroe. Yes, not only are they handing the reins at LT over to an unproven rookie, they are getting rid of the reliable veteran for NOTHING. I guess their down season last year hurt them more emotionally than I thought. I’m sorry for your loss Baltimore…well, your 11 losses, technically. At least you’re still superior to Cleveland.
  2. Miami Dolphins S Reshad Jones is ending his holdout from the team’s minicamp. Jones wants a new contract and is deserving of somewhere around top dollar as one of the best safeties in the league. Food for thought: with DT Ndamukong Suh’s massive contract, will the Dolphins be willing to fork over a big money contract to Jones as well? Maybe their success this year will determine that.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

