Daily Update: June 24, 2016

“I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process.” -Vincent Van Gogh, Artist

I love this quote. Sadly, when I looked for quotes related to work, I found mostly quotes talking about the benefits of work. Work isn’t always beneficial. I am saddened by the influence that the dollar has in today’s society. Unlike Van Gogh, many people today put their heart and their soul into earning money. If Van Gogh lost his mind doing something that he wanted to do instead of something that earned him money, can you imagine what work does to those of us who are in it for the money. I have a very good friend who works seven hours a day at a job, and another at least three or four hours between baby sitting and house sitting. That’s a minimum of ten hours a day! I often ask her, ‘How can you stand to work that much every day?’ Her answer: ‘I love money.’ Of course, I grill her a little for working just for money, and her excuse is that she needs art supplies, and so forth. But, I don’t buy it (LOL, get it, because of money? :)). There is SO much more to life than money. Unfortunately, work is a necessity because everybody needs money to survive in today’s society. But we don’t have to burn ourselves out on making money. Money doesn’t buy happiness. In fact, the reason most people work as much as they do is to provide for the people that they love. In movies, they always say how people would rather spend time with the people they love than have their money. That’s how it should be. Sometimes, the way to provide for the people you love is not earning money for them, it’s sharing your love with them. So, with that, I encourage you all to spend more time with the people around you. Life is short, and I have no idea what it’s purpose is. But, I am absolutely convinced that the purpose is NOT to spend all of our time working. I make my purpose to be with the people I love because they make me happy, and I want to make them happy too. Of course, a job that you love can also bring happiness. For me, this blog is that kind of job, so let’s get to the daily news:

  1. I don’t want to give more publicity to QB Johnny Manziel, but this story is hilarious. The Cleveland Browns aren’t the only ones who doubt Manziel because HIS LAWYER does too! His defense attorney is working on a plea deal with prosecutors in Manziel’s case. The following is a direct quote from the attorney: “Heaven help us if one of the conditions is to pee in a bottle.” That is one of the best things I’ve heard all week. You know the dude has a HUGE problem if the guy who is paid handsomely to support him, still doesn’t.
  2. In December of 2015, an Al-Jazeera America report alleging PED use amongst multiple NFL players was released. Next month, four of those players will be interviewed. Their names: Pittsburgh Steelers LB James Harrison, Green Bay Packers LBs Clay Matthews and Julius Peppers, and LB Mike Neal. Those are some HUGE names. This incident could have HUGE implications on the legacies of both Harrison and Peppers. It could also affect the future of Matthews. Big mistake for all four players if the report is valid.
  3. QB Tarvaris Jackson was arrested this morning for allegedly threatening a woman. Sadly, the incident likely won’t affect Jackson’s career because it is pretty much over anyway. But still, bad move, man. Respect others. It’s that simple. Somebody needs to make that a message at NFL rookie orientation because I write about these kinds of stories FAR too often.
  4. The Pittsburgh Steelers released K Shaun Suisham following a setback in his rehab of his torn ACL from last season. This was a very interesting move, in which, everybody is mad. I know Steelers fans were FURIOUS upon hearing this news because of last season’s debacle with replacement K Josh Scobee, who made Suisham look like the best K in NFL history. Scobee was TERRIBLE! I was also furious because I hate when teams do that to their players. It’s not his fault he tore his ACL! Suisham did so much for the Steelers, yet, they turn their back on him just like that.
  5. I’m sure most of you have heard about the recent shooting at an Orlando night club. The NFL has too. Today the league, as well as all three Florida-based NFL franchises, donated $400,000 to the OneOrlando Fund, which supports victims’ families, and the survivors of the attack. The amount is a little low considering how much money the four organizations have, but it’s the thought that counts, right? And that is still a lot of money, so good for the NFL.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote and/or the daily news, as well as a much-appreciated like. Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

