Daily Update: July 5, 2016

Exercise to stimulate, not to annihilate. The world wasn’t formed in a day, and neither were we. Set small goals and build upon them.” -Lee Haney, Bodybuilder

The main topic of today’s daily quote began as exercise. I chose that topic because over two months ago, I decided to start running. It has been FANTASTIC for me in multiple ways. It has helped me emotionally because I use my problems in life to fuel my running so I can run faster. It also, of course, has helped me physically. I wanted to talk about exercise because I’m proud to report that my running now has me in the best shape of my life. My head is clearer than it’s been for the last two months (though, I think my rant two days ago may have something to do with that because that was a burden on my mind), I can do 11 pull-ups in a row (not running related, I’m exercising multiple parts of my body), and I’m putting on weight in muscle (I used to weigh 120 lbs, I now weigh 126 lbs and I can see my abs because I’ve been doing sit-ups for the first time in a while too!!!). So goal number one for today’s daily quote was to inspire you all to exercise more because it’s fun, and it’s GREAT for all aspects of health. When I found this quote, however, I took it to a deeper level (shocking, right? I probably don’t even need to say that anymore because you all know that I never read at surface level) and applied the concept of stimulation versus annihilation to all of life. I mentioned that I use my problems to fuel my running so that I run faster. Unfortunately, that does fall more under the annihilation category. That’s always how I’ve lived my life; I do things because I want to win. What can I say? I’m a competitive person. I think that has negatively impacted my life, though. While I disagree with the idea that annihilation is bad in exercise because I feel that is one area that everyone should push themselves beyond their limits, annihilation isn’t always the best approach to life. As nice as it would be, we can’t always win. In fact, it wouldn’t be all that nice, anyway. Losing is what fuels us to improve so that we may win the next time. The problems that I use to fuel my running have come as a result of losing. Of course, those losses have come as a result of me trying to win, but I’m learning to see them as positive for me, and THAT is why I wanted to talk about this quote. So while I ABSOLUTELY encourage you all to exercise because it’s AWESOME, I also encourage you to embrace failure. It is only when you embrace failure (or at least the possibility of it), that good things happen. That is what pushes us to challenge ourselves. We take on challenges because we can accept that the possibility of failure is just as beneficial (if not more beneficial) for us as (than) the reward that would come from success. For example, every day when I run, I set out to run further than I’ve ever run before. I’ve actually done that just five times in a good 30-ish attempts. Every time I DON’T accomplish that goal, it makes me more determined to accomplish it the next time I run. So, in essence, our goals that we fail to reach are the small goals that build us up to succeed in a larger, overarching goal. Again, I remind everyone to NEVER give up on their goals. You can still win the war without winning all of the battles. That was a long one, but it’s more POSITIVE this time, right? 🙂 To the daily news…and BEYOND!

  1. The Detroit Lions have cut LB Stephen Tulloch! This one shocked me. He has recorded more than 100 tackles in four of his five seasons in Detroit! He was also (seemingly) the leader of the defense that has included superstars such as S Glover Quin, DT Ndamukong Suh, DT Haloti Ngata, and LB DeAndre Levy. Despite tearing his ACL in 2014 during a sack celebration, Tulloch has mostly been unstoppable (though he struggles a little in coverage) for the Lions, who already have an abysmal season outlook. This one might come back to bite the team.
  2. Former-Buffalo Bills OL Kyle Calloway was killed by a train. The event happened in Arizona on Saturday. Calloway was just 29 years old. Calloway had taken to running on the tracks, following washing out of the NFL. R.I.P. Kyle Calloway.
  3. I am currently working on my win projections for the upcoming NFL season. I won’t spoil too much now, but I am through Week 9, so I figured I would give you guys a few halfway mark updates. There is one undefeated team and one winless team. The undefeated team is in the NFC, but is NOT the same team that almost went undefeated in the regular season last year (that team is an even 4-4). The winless team is a perennial loser who I don’t believe will be helped by a new head coach, possible new QB, and new WRs THIS season. The NFC East is actually one of the stronger divisions for the first time in a while (no thanks to my team), and the NFC South has gone back to being a weaker division, with the reigning NFC champs continuing to hold the best record in the division. If the season ended at the halfway mark, there would be three new division champs (compared to last season) in the NFC North, AFC North, and AFC West. Okay, that’s all of my spoilers for now. Anyway, if all goes well, I should be releasing my win projections within the next week. But, don’t hold me to that because whenever I give a timeline, something always seems to come up. *Note*: My initial win projections release will NOT include the playoffs. It takes me a while to pick my Super Bowl winner. I have to FEEL it, and it always comes at random times. I correctly picked the Baltimore Ravens to win Super Bowl 47 the summer prior to that season because the feeling came to me when I was walking my dog. …Gee, I wonder who is going to win the Super Bowl this year? (Looks up, sees Raven in sky) The Ravens!… That’s actually how that played out. Literally. I’m am 100% not joking. I couldn’t be more serious about that. I don’t know why I have that weird ability. It actually kind of scares me, but it’s really cool when it works like that. Last year, I picked my winner before I felt it and I was WAY off. This year I would like to at least pick a team that ends up making the playoffs. So be patient with me, please.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote and/or the daily news, along with a much appreciated like. Also, for those of you who may have missed my post yesterday, here is another link to my friend’s new blog. Check it out! She’s really awesome! Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

