Daily Update: July 8, 2016

(WARNING: Violent images in the scene of the day.) “No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be, because Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new.” -Steve Jobs, Founder of Apple

This is your boy, bringing the EARLY morning news because I was out partying with friends this evening. You’re welcome. I respect all of you, readers, WAY too much to skip the news this evening. Anyway, I picked a quote about death because I lost a great friend today (and because I thought it to be a wonderful excuse to put in one of the many Sean Bean death montages on Youtube because he acts out death phenomenally). My wonderful television that I have used for video gaming for the past several years passed away today. The picture just cut out in the middle of a video game (surprisingly, I wasn’t the one playing at the time, my sister was because the TV respects me too much to die while I’m gaming). Yes, the nerd in me lost a big piece today. I used that television for all of my Madden needs, as well as all of my Star Wars marathons with my friends. Of course, that television was vital to my household, so there is already a new one in place. But the old one will still be missed until I start playing video games on the new one tomorrow. I thought about this quote, and Jobs is right. I don’t want to die. But I will tell you this much: I would rather it be me than anyone that I love. This probably sounds a little ridiculous following the TV bit. Don’t worry, I’m not suggesting it should’ve been me instead of the TV because TVs are replaceable. I’m talking solely about the PEOPLE who I love. I would gladly take a bullet for all of my family members, all of my friends, and even my ex-girlfriend. If I had the opportunity to sacrifice my life to save the life of someone I love, I would. I would say I’d do it without hesitation, but I’m sure I’d hesitate in a highly-charged situation like that. Regardless, I would, inevitably, sacrifice myself. I never put myself first. I liked this quote in particular because of its positive spin on a topic that is generally regarded as a negative. Another positive, in my opinion, is the daily NFL news:

  1. So the franchise-tagged players have until July 15, 2016 to work out long-term contracts before tabling discussions for the summer. Those players who were tagged and have yet to receive a long-term deal are: Denver Broncos LB Von Miller, New York Jets DE Muhammad Wilkerson, Chicago Bears WR Alshon Jeffery, Washington Redskins QB Kirk Cousins, Kansas City Chiefs S Eric Berry, Los Angeles Rams CB Trumaine Johnson, and Baltimore Ravens K Justin Tucker. I repeat: These players do NOT have a long-term contract with their respective teams yet. I will keep you all updated on these players’ statuses through the deadline.
  2. WR Calvin Johnson Jr came out recently and said that he would have had a harder time with his decision to retire if the Detroit Lions were a contender. It’s hard to blame him. He was in Detroit for nine seasons, and was the best player on the team at all times by a large margin. He shares a similar opinion to that of Golden State Warriors SF Kevin Durant, who has received a lot of heat for switching teams out of wanting to win. SERIOUSLY!? How do we possibly have a right to get mad at these guys for wanting to WIN?! Isn’t that better than the players being in it for the MONEY!? It’s more fun when they are playing to win because we see more amazing things (i.e. “The Catch” by Odell Beckham Jr).
  3. Former Buffalo Bills QB Jim Kelly showed no signs of cancer after a recent biopsy! Congrats Kelly! See Buffalo? Even though your team sucks, you still have someone to cheer for!
  4. Buffalo Bills RB LeSean McCoy appears to be in the clear. After reports of McCoy’s involvement in an altercation at a Philadelphia nightclub in February, authorities and the NFL were quick to investigate. One of those parties officially concluded their investigation: the authorities. They concluded that McCoy did nothing wrong. If the authorities came up with that, it’s likely the league will, too. Another thing for Buffalo to celebrate!

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment regarding the daily quote and/or the daily news and/or whatever your heart desires to talk about, along with a much-appreciated like (especially for the 12:30 am post!). Have a pleasant tomorrow.

One thought on “Daily Update: July 8, 2016

Leave a Reply

