Weekend Update: July 31, 2016

“If nothing else in life, I want to be true to the things I believe in, and quite simply, to what I’m all about. I know I’d better, because it seems whenever I take a false step or two I feel the consequences.” –Peyton Manning, Future Hall of Fame QB

I wanted to put this fantastic new commercial in my post today. I didn’t really have a topic of discussion in mind for today, so I went with the purely entertaining route. DirecTV has fantastic commercials. This one is so good, I found a video that plays it twice. Plus, it has Manning AND Lionel Richie in it. That’s what I call a win-win. For more entertaining Peyton Manning-related content: 2016 ESPYs-Peyton Manning Tribute. But, to be a little philosophical about the quote, I agree with him. If you believe in something, stick with it because it will pay off. For me personally, my life is pretty great. In fact, it’s almost perfect. I credit that to the fact that I try to be as selfless as possible. It seems as though the few things that prevent my life from being totally perfect are things that resulted from moments of selfishness. So, I also agree with the ‘feel the consequences’ part. This blog is one way that I do my best to be selfless. I write the quote of the day and the following philosophical analysis because I want to inspire people. I want to inspire as many people as possible to believe in themselves. In my experience, the only better feeling than believing in yourself, comes from helping others believe in themselves. Plus, I truthfully believe that everybody has, within them, whatever they need, to accomplish whatever they want. I believe that I can inspire many people to believe in themselves, and not just via this blog. I also believe in myself as a writer, and as a sports fan. That’s why I write the daily NFL news:

  1. Houston Texans WR DeAndre Hopkins began a contract holdout during the previous week. I guess he realized how ridiculous that was with two years left on his rookie contract because his holdout has already ended as of today. That’s good news for QB Brock Osweiler, because he could use as much practice as possible with the team’s top receiving threat.
  2. I, along with every other New York Giants fan and team member, received a massive scare today when WR Odell Beckham Jr was carted off the practice field. Luckily, he’s okay. He collided with CB Janoris Jenkins during practice, and Jenkins’ cleats left Beckham with a couple of minor cuts on his left leg. Head coach Ben McAdoo told the media today that, “He’s (Beckham) probably going to be sore for a couple days.” In essence, crisis averted.
  3. In other WR news, Antonio Brown is itching for a new contract in Pittsburgh. While he isn’t holding out like Hopkins, he is gently nudging the team by speaking about the situation with the media. Brown is entering year 5 of a 6 year deal, and makes just north of $6 million this season. His new deal will likely be worth A LOT more than that, whether it is with the Steelers, or another team. Regardless, the Steelers don’t have to start worrying about a new contract for Brown until next season.
  4. Houston Texans DE JJ Watt had back surgery this offseason. He is currently on the team’s Physically Unable to Perform List, and is unsure if he will be ready to go week 1. Should Watt sit week 1, (which isn’t likely with his love for the game) the team’s newly-revamped offense will be tested to keep pace with a breach in their defense’s containment.
  5. Carolina Panthers DE Kony Ealy is in the league’s concussion protocol after a helmet-to-helmet hit during Saturday’s practice. Ealy is in line for a bigger role in Carolina, so the team (and obviously, Ealy) is hoping he can come back quickly.
  6. Los Angeles Rams RB Tre Mason is trying to follow QB Nick Foles out the door. The RB has decided not to report to Rams camp. He has not spoken to the team since last season ended, and he has had five, police-involved incidents in the last four months. Foles left because of the young QB Jared Goff, Mason is leaving because of the young RB Todd Gurley.
  7. San Francisco 49ers OT Anthony Davis has been reinstated by the NFL, officially ending his retirement. Davis isn’t a lock to start, but likely will prove to be effective for a 49ers team that is DESPERATELY looking for talent. Even with Davis back, the 49ers season outlook is bleak.
  8. The Dallas Cowboys. They have been in the news recently for their troubled front seven on defense. Ironically, the team has now decided to change their entire outlook. With many Americans against the police right now, the Cowboys have requested, and received permission to wear a “Arm in Arm” decal on their helmets during preseason games, to show support for the police. This may be a tactic by owner Jerry Jones to deflect the negative feedback that he’s received over his front seven’s problems, but regardless, it is a very nice gesture.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote, and/or the daily news, and/or whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

