Daily Quote: September 12, 2016

(Mild language in daily clip) “We are always getting ready to live but never living.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson, Poet

Hallelujah! “He said what we’re all thinking.” -Caroline, Portal 2. Getting ready to live. It’s a never-ending pursuit. That’s what we spend our the majority of our lives, chasing. We start in elementary school, where we prepare to go to middle school. We spend middle school preparing to go to high school. We spend high school preparing to go to college. We spend college preparing to get a job. We spend jobs preparing to retire. We spend retirement preparing for our families to be set up for success, and to go through the same cycle. We really only get to live during the first five years of our lives. Ironic, isn’t it? We spend our lives getting ready to live, when we were living before we started our pursuit. It’s unfortunate that life has come to that point. A friend of mine once told me that she loved to work with kids because of the perspective they have of the world. Maybe their perspective of living is what she was talking about. I spend far too much of my life getting ready to live. I rarely find myself in the moment. I have too many regrets that I can’t figure out how to get rid of. So many mistakes. I spend my life getting ready to live by trying to fix the mistakes that I’ve made. I know that’s not the way that I should live, but sadly, I don’t know how to break that pattern that I’ve settled into.

I was thinking about getting ready because that’s what each day seems to mean here at DU. I spent the first week getting ready for classes. Today was my first day of classes. Today, I spent getting ready for more classes. Those more classes will be spent getting ready for more work. That more work will be spent getting ready for tests. Those tests will be spent getting ready for more quarters, more knowledge, more experience, and so on. It never seems to end. Is there a way to break the never-ending pursuit? I know for sure that I’m not even remotely qualified to answer that question. I can only say that I have yet to find a way, and it’s really not society’s fault. I have driven myself into my own, never-ending pursuit to live the life that I want to live. Maybe it’s unattainable? I’d like to think that’s not the case. Nothing is impossible. My point is this: Don’t live in the past (like me) or the future (like most of society). Live in the moment. The past is totally out of your control, and the future (in my opinion, many others disagree) is also mostly out of your control. So, enjoy the moment. Realize that neither what has happened, nor what will happen, is in control of the beautiful moment that you are living in right now. Find the beauty in the current moment, and hold on to it. You never know how long it may last.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today (because I have 3 classes tomorrow, starting at 8am, and I am INSANELY tired. More NFL analysis in coming days), make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. If you like what you read and you are not yet a follower, become a follower to enjoy the beauty of the moment (that hopefully exists) in each post that I write. Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

