Another: Brissett and…(Listen)…

“One of the most sincere forms of respect is actually listening to what another has to say.” -Bryant H McGill, Author (Like for using a Madden NFL 17 soundtrack song in the daily quote, today!)

Listen…Listen, and you will learn so much more than you possibly thought. There are few things I love more than listening. I pride myself on respecting others. Am I perfect? Absolutely NOT. I know for a fact that I have made disrespectful remarks and committed disrespectful actions. I’m sure the disrespectful things that I’m aware of having said and done are merely a small portion of all of the disrespectful things that I’ve said and done. For the record, 99% of the time, I accidentally disrespect others. I very rarely intentionally disrespect another person. Even so, I’m ashamed of the fact that I can say it is ever intentional, even if it’s only 1% of the time. I love being called out when I do something disrespectful. How else am I going to learn? That’s the reason that I pride myself on respecting others; I have had many people in my life call me out on those mistakes. Most of whom, forgive me after an apology because they know me well enough to know that I take those things to heart, and I strive to prevent myself from doing that in the future. There are probably, say, two people, who called me out and didn’t forgive me. One of them didn’t ever know me well enough, so that person may have thought I was always like that (for all they knew). The other person…well, I thought that person knew me better…crap happens. But you know what, other people don’t define my character. Only I do. I know that I’m not the perfect, completely respectful person. But I strive to be the most respectful person I can be, and I learn from my mistakes.

Sidenote: I had a conversation with my college roommate about faith, today. (It was a deep conversation. Of course, a subject may have come up that has led to the more melancholy tone of this post…Maybe I’ll share that story with all of you some day…It’s not one I like to tell. I didn’t tell my roommate the story. Actually, even my best friend hasn’t heard the story…What’s the saying? Skeletons in the closet? I guess it’s something like that. Anyway, back to the point…) During this conversation, I realized that I have almost no faith in anything or anyone. I don’t know how I’ve ended up like that…it’s hard to figure out. It just seems like, every time I put my faith into someone, that person lets me down, with the exception of two good friends and my family. I’m actually almost scared to put my faith into them, because I REALLY don’t want them to ever let me down. I do my absolute best to never let anyone else down. Ironically, I don’t have faith in myself. I’ve let myself down more times than I can count. And, unfortunately, I have let others down. I never realized how difficult it is to rebuild faith. When you let someone down, it is nearly impossible to rebuild that person’s faith in you. That probably shouldn’t surprise me; I’ve lost faith in many people…I don’t know…I always say that I make LOADS of mistakes…Maybe I’ve made WAY more than I think…I’m sorry. To everyone that I’ve ever let down. I know sorry doesn’t make up for mistakes. I wish there was a way to make a sorry TRULY meaningful. But, actions speak louder than words. I just need to beg for the opportunity to speak with my actions. Ironic, isn’t it? Actions speak louder than words…but to be able to speak with your actions following a mistake, you have to talk (with words, of course) your way into a position where you are able to speak with your actions again. As I said earlier in this paragraph: it’s hard to figure out. So is the world. Oh well.

Do you feel comfortable putting your faith in other people?

So, finally, on to the listening part. Listening is the most important part of the quote. Listening is an integral part of life. Only through listening can one truly UNDERSTAND. I love to be a listener. It’s awesome to be on the receiving end of someone else’s story. You’d be surprised how much you can learn about someone by just listening to that person. In fact, if you listen to one person long enough, you’ll get to know their typical, storytelling voice. When you know what that sounds like, you can actually start to FEEL the stories they tell based on slight differences in how they tell different stories. That shows up in writing, too. For example, when I write about ideas or subjects that are sensitive to me in my blog, I tend to use shorter sentences and ellipses. In contrast, when I’m writing about subjects that I love to talk about, my sentences tend to drag on for some time, and I type certain words with all capitalized letters for emphasis. Of course, some storytellers expect you to listen to respond so that they know you’re listening to them. I’ve never understood that. I find it more respectful when people let me tell my stories WITHOUT interrupting. If someone is listening to respond, they won’t notice the storytelling voice, and therefore, they won’t FEEL the story. Such is the power of listening performed correctly.

Do you like listeners who respond, or listeners who remain silent? Which kind of listener are you?

Alright, now that I’ve gotten the melancholy, deep stuff out of the way, I’ve got some startling news from the New England Patriots organization: QB Jacoby Brissett sustained a right thumb sprain in the Pats’ win over the Houston Texans on Thursday night. So, let’s do a quick recap, shall we? Starting QB Tom Brady is suspended for the whole “Deflategate” scandal; The suspension still lasts one more game. Backup QB Jimmy Garoppolo sustained an injury to his throwing shoulder last weekend, against the Miami Dolphins; He isn’t expected to be healthy until after Brady’s return. Now, third-string Brissett is dealing with this thumb injury; His status is uncertain for next weekend. So, now what? Well, the popular rumor circulating right now, is that the Pats will sign another QB in free agency. You know what, I don’t think they will. Let me get to the next point to explain why. The OTHER rumor is that WR Julian Edelman will play QB because he played QB in college, at Kent State University. I like option number two. Here’s why: Brissett was supposed to cause the Patriots some problems in their game against the Texans. Instead, despite the short week to prepare for Thursday night, Brissett led the Pats to 27 points, and they shut out the previously unbeaten Houston Texans. So, clearly, Pats coach Bill Belichick is the best QB mentor in the league. Also, Edelman has thrown some passes for the Patriots on trick plays, and he’s actually got a pretty good arm. In the 2014 Divisional Round against the Baltimore Ravens, Edelman caught a lateral pass from QB Tom Brady, and proceeded to throw a 51-yard TD pass to WR Danny Amendola. So, IF Brissett isn’t ready to go next Sunday, I doubt the Patriots will sign a FOURTH QB, without any of their first three on IR. That means, it’s Edelman the QB time! Oh, also, TE Rob Gronkowski will likely be less limited next Sunday, so Edelman will have the best target in the league to work with, should he be forced into the QB situation.

Which do you think is more likely in the event that Brissett can’t play next weekend: The Patriots sign another QB, or Edelman plays QB?

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote and/or on the daily news and/or on the daily questions and/or on whatever is on your mind. If you like what you read and you are not yet a follower, become a follower so I can celebrate “another one!” 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Another: Brissett and…(Listen)…

Leave a Reply

