Temper: OBJ and Feeling

“Have a heart that never hardens, and a temper that never tires, and a touch that never hurts.” -Charles Dickens, Author

I’m a red-head, so I’ve heard a thing or two about temper. It’s amazing how strong that stereotype is. Red hair does NOT equal hothead. I’m one of the most level-headed people I know. In fact, I hate getting mad at people. I live my life trying to help others find happiness, and anger just doesn’t have a place in that. I’ve had a lot of people get angry with me, but I can only think of one person who has made me REALLY angry in the past year (not my ex, for the record), and that person has gotten me to yell multiple times. That person REALLY knows how to irritate me; It’s actually kind of impressive because even I didn’t know I could get so irritated. Anyway, that’s mostly just a side note regarding the stereotype that red-heads have bad tempers: It’s NOT true.

Do you have a bad temper? Do you know anyone else that has a bad temper?

This is a great quote. It’s so great, that I’m going to take a moment to analyze all three parts. “Have a heart that never hardens”. Heart is probably the most important thing in the world, in my opinion. Heart guides the decisions that I make in my life, for better or for worse. I may regret the WAY that I have approached situations, but I NEVER regret my intentions. I always go for what I FEEL is right. Feeling is the best way to go through life. Most of the time, problems can be solved by just doing what feels right. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It doesn’t matter if people disagree with you and try to break your heart, NEVER stop following it. The only way your heart can harden is if YOU allow it to harden by letting people get to you. A “temper that never tires”. I don’t think this line is encouraging anger. Rather, it is encouraging passion. That’s why it’s tied to the quote about the heart. Never let your passion die. Express yourself and fight for what you believe in and for what you want. A “touch that never hurts”. This line almost doesn’t seem to fit in with the other two parts of the quote. I feel like this ties in to what I was talking about in the first paragraph; Help others. Feeling your way through life will rarely hurt others because feeling usually includes empathizing. When you hurt others, you don’t feel right. At least, that’s how it works for me. That’s why I always try to help others.

Which of the three parts of this quote means the most to you? Why?

I looked up ‘temper’ because of New York Giants WR Odell Beckham Jr. Only OBJ has the passion for the game to get into an altercation with a kicking net when he has over 100 yards receiving. It’s interesting how much people make of the OBJ-CB Josh Norman matchup. It’s happened twice, and both times, OBJ destroyed Norman. It seems pretty clear to me that OBJ is a better player than Norman. At the very least, he’s played well enough to not need to be angry with himself. Maybe he just lets the media get into his head about the matchup. Or Norman. Maybe that’s a good thing, too. Can you imagine how hard it is to get over 100 yards receiving against one of the best CBs in the league WHILE he’s causing you to lose your focus by getting in your head? I guess it’s just motivation for the superhuman, OBJ.

Do you believe Norman is truly a worthy matchup for OBJ?

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the daily quote and/or on the daily news and/or on the daily questions and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower so I continue to be level-headed. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Temper: OBJ and Feeling

Leave a Reply

