#26: Cubs, A Failure, and More

Image result for chicago cubs

Congratulations are in order for the Chicago Cubs! They bounced back from a 1-3 World Series deficit to end up winning the Series in a 10-inning, 8-7 victory over the Cleveland Indians. I had mixed emotions about this. I wanted the Indians to win, though that’s not why I’m conflicted. I have a DU friend who is a Cubs fan, but my former French Horn instructor is a Indians fan. I was really happy to share that moment with my DU friend, despite my desire to see the Indians win. Having been a fan during the New York Giants magical Super Bowl run in the 2011 postseason, I know how special it is to see your team win a championship. It is incredibly surreal. Also, the rain delay after the 9th inning nearly gave me a heart attack, because that was a GREAT game, and I wanted to see what would happen. Congrats Cubbies, for your first World Series win since 1908 (that’s 108 years!)!

So, naturally, after two days of talking about being a good person, I did something very not good-personly. So, I have a solid friend group of 4 people here at DU (I prefer smaller groups of friends, so I can actually get to know my friends). There is this fifth guy who is partially a friend of one of the four, and he is also in my Newswriting & Reporting class, so he is under the impression that he is my “friend”. He’s definitely not. He is a selfish, loud, cussing, and sex-crazy guy. The only one of those things I truly relate to is the loud part (maybe the cussing a little more than I’d like to admit. Driving and video games just drive me crazy sometimes!). Plus, he ruins sports games by continuously asking questions! It’s annoying when people do that! So, I try not to watch sports with people like that. I’ve only ever made an exception for my ex, because, well, I need my girl to at least PARTIALLY understand sports! I mean, sports are a HUGE part of my life! Anyway, the fifth guy barged into the dorm room in which my group of four was watching the World Series game. We went to get dinner after the second inning. On the way back to the room, I came up with the idea to ditch the fifth guy. All of the other three were on board, so while we were climbing some stairs, we dropped back and turned back to watch the game elsewhere. I’m not overly proud of it. I wish there was an easy way to tell someone to their face that they’re a jerk. I can’t think of an easy way to do that, so I just drop hints like the ditching thing. Anyway, I know that definitely wasn’t the best way to handle the situation. Does anybody have an idea what a good way would’ve been to handle that situation?

Image result for annoying

Image result for annoying

Detroit Lions

Image result for detroit lions

Founded: 1930

All-Time Winning Percentage: 45.5%

All-Time Record: (510-611-32)

The first team on the list that is north of the 45% mark is a fun one. The Lions have never been much of a postseason team. Like, NEVER, never. They still have yet to even attend a Super Bowl. However, the Lions have had two, prolific offensive weapons in their history: RB Barry Sanders and WR Calvin Johnson Jr. Both are known for being the best of their time, and amongst the best ever. They are also known for retiring early; That’s just the Lions luck.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the Chicago Cubs and/or on the proper way to handle an irritating person and/or on the Detroit Lions and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower to hear both successes, and failures (like the one mentioned above). Have a pleasant tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “#26: Cubs, A Failure, and More

  1. It sounds like he needs attention. You can’t fix that. The four of you should tell him….IF you want to keep him included. Good luck with that!! Some people are worth ditching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

