#16: Faith, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Ranking ONLY! NO spoilers, I promise!), and More…

Image result for martin luther king jr
“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” -Martin Luther King Jr, Civil Rights Activist

Faith is probably one of the most tricky concepts I have ever experienced. Faith is why there are so many different religions on Earth; We all put our faith into different things and different people. Personally, this analogy basically encapsulates the reason that I typically don’t exercise faith. I live my life with far too much logic and doubt. What if there is no whole staircase? What if you take that first step, and the next step is off the cliff. I have put my faith in people many times. More often than not, I ended up falling off the cliff. As I write this, I realize that I haven’t entirely stopped putting my faith in others, but I generally expect that my faith will not pay off. However, faith is also the reason that friends and family are so important to me: they are they less often that leads to a whole staircase. Faith is one of the riskier endeavors in life.

What kind of experiences have you had in which your faith did (or didn’t) pay off?

Image result for faith meme

Into the West. This Lord of the Rings-ian concept is a curious one. I don’t know a ton about the subject because I’m more of a Star Wars buff, but I’ll give it a shot. The song “Into the West” accompanies the ending of Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, when multiple characters (including Elrond, Bilbo, Gandalf, and Frodo) all sail into the west (shocking, right?). The action of sailing into the west in Middle Earth was created to access Valinor, which was essentially the home of the Gods. Originally, all species in Middle Earth were invited to Valinor to live with the Gods because the Earth was flat. However, many rebelled against the Gods and left Valinor to return to Middle Earth. Following the betrayal, the Gods bent the Earth and removed Valinor from the surface to prevent mortals from sailing there. The newly bent Earth still allowed immortals (such as elves) to sail a straight sea to get to Valinor, though they were no longer permitted to return to Middle Earth upon reaching Valinor. It is commonly referred to as “the afterlife”, because sailing into the west was what gave species (like the elves) their immortality, as they left behind the mortal life of Middle Earth. Curiously, this ties in quite nicely to the topic of faith. Those who sail into the west don’t see the whole staircase because they don’t know what lies in wait for them in Valinor. It seems very Adam & Eve-esque to me. The mortals get kicked out of a heaven-like place for rebelling. Also, it’s interesting how in both stories, the mortals betray the faith of the Gods, only to be forced to reciprocate the faith following their betrayal. Like I said, faith is a tricky subject. This whole discussion has thoroughly confused me. This is my source for all of that LOTR lore.

I saw Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, yesterday. PHENOMENAL. I don’t want to spoil the story for any of you who did not see the premiere because you do not feel the force as strongly as I do, so I will simply tell you that it was high on my ranking of all Star Wars movies. I have it neck-and-neck with Return of the Jedi for 3rd best Star Wars movie. Obviously, A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back are 1st and 2nd, respectively. I HIGHLY recommend that you go see it. Preferably, before I see it for the 2nd time this weekend.

How would you rank the nine Star Wars movies in canon (Episodes I-VII, Rogue One, and Star Wars: The Clone Wars)?

Image result for rogue one meme

Kansas City Chiefs

Image result for kansas city chiefs

Founded: 1960

All-Time Winning Percentage: 51%

All-Time Record: (404-388-12)

The second half of the rankings of the NFL franchises by all-time winning percentage kicks off with the Kansas City Chiefs. One of the powerhouses in the NFL this season, the Chiefs have a tradition of being…well…average. That’s probably why they are in the middle of these rankings. They played in Super Bowl I and won Super Bowl IV, but they have yet to return to the biggest game in all of sports, since. They thrive of off past-their-prime veterans, such as C Mike Webster, QB Joe Montana, RB Marcus Allen, and QB Warren Moon. A modern-day example is current Chiefs QB Alex Smith. They also tend to have great LBs, like Hall of Famers Bobby Bell, Willie Lanier, and Derrick Thomas. Current LBs include Pro Bowlers and All-Pros Derrick Johnson, Tamba Hali, and Justin Houston. After impressive inter-divisional victories over the Oakland Raiders and Denver Broncos, the Chiefs look like they may have the potential to get back to their first Super Bowl in 47 years.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on faith and/or on LOTR lore and/or on the daily quote and/or on the daily song and/or on Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and/or on the Kansas City Chiefs and/or on the daily questions, along with a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower to sail with me into wherever we want to go. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

