Basketball Halftime Half Court Shot

I was present for the University of Denver Men’s Basketball Team victory over the South Dakota State Jackrabbits, by a score of 91-82. But, I’ve been to a lot of DU basketball games. What made this one special, was that I wasn’t just in the stands this time around. No, this time, I got to go on the court:

“Do you guys want to take a half court shot?”

Image result for half court shot meme

Are you kidding? I have been waiting my entire life to hear those exact words!!!

“Two of you can participate.”

Great, there are three of us.

“I’ll do it,” says Matt.

Of course you will you selfish son of a…

“I want to, as well,” Ben and I say in unison as Matt is already signing the first contract.

“Oh, go ahead, Billy,” says Ben.

I can’t just take it away from someone else who wants to do it. That’s not who I am.

“No, if you want to then let’s do rock, paper, scissors so we both have a fair chance,” I reply.

“Rock, paper, scissors…” We both go scissors.

“Rock, paper, scissors…” He goes rock, I go paper.

I won! I will admit, if I had lost the first one, I would’ve asked for best two out of three. But, Ben didn’t ask when he lost the first time. So, I signed the contract. Don’t worry, I feel plenty guilty about that.

Halftime rolls around and my heart is pounding.

“We got this!” I say to Matt as we’re getting ready to head onto the court.

I’ll probably trip as I go for my running start.

“If you make the shot, you’ll win $100.”

Great, no pressure.

Matt goes first and air balls the first shot. The next time, he nails the accuracy, but comes up just short in the power department, as it bounces off the front of the rim.

Now, it’s my turn. First shot…right amount of power, little to the left, as it bounces off the left side of the rim. Second shot…close in the power department…worse in the accuracy department, as it bounces off the backboard to the right of the rim.

I was impressed that I didn’t air ball either of my shots. Plus, apparently Matt and I both get a DU gear bundle for our participation, so that’s cool.

I will admit, it is another great college story. I have always wanted to be the halftime entertainment. 🙂

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on basketball games and/or on half court shots and/or on halftime entertainment and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, becoming a follower is much easier than making a half court shot, so please become a follower. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Basketball Halftime Half Court Shot

Leave a Reply

