Serge Ibaka Trade, Kevin Love Injury, Charles Oakley Ban…

It’s been too long since I’ve gotten into some sports talk, so that’s where I’m headed today:

Image result for serge ibaka

The Toronto Raptors made news today by making a deal for Orlando Magic PF Serge Ibaka. The move was reportedly made in an effort to improve the Raptors defense. After all, the Raptors don’t need too much help on offense with a backcourt of PG Kyle Lowry and SG DeMar DeRozan. Ibaka has been a good defender for the majority of his NBA career, though he has gotten a little worse with age. He will join C Jonas Valanciunas in guarding the paint. The Orlando Magic received SF Terrence Ross and a 2017 1st round pick in return.

Image result for kevin love

Staying in the NBA, the Cleveland Cavaliers will be without PF Kevin Love for the next 6 weeks, as Love had surgery on his left knee. Even without Love on Valentine’s Day, the Cavs came away with a 116-108 victory on the road, against the Minnesota Timberwolves.

Image result for valentine's day

Speaking of Valentine’s Day, Happy Valentine’s Day! If you’re like me, however, Happy Singles Awareness Day! As a side note, Valentine’s Day was way more fun back in Elementary School when I got a bunch of candy from everyone.

Image result for charles oakley

Back to the NBA, the New York Knicks have lifted the ban on legend Charles Oakley. Of course, Oakley stated that he refuses to return to Madison Square Garden until he (and the fans) are issued a formal apology from Knicks owner James Dolan. Can’t people just let bygones be bygones, anymore?

Image result for uconn women's basketball

Staying in basketball, but moving to women’s college basketball, the University of Connecticut women’s basketball team won their 100th straight game yesterday in a 66-55 victory over the 6th-ranked University of South Carolina. 59 games of the 100 were decided by 40+ points. Only 2 were decided by single digits. Congrats to head coach Geno Auriemma and the lady Huskies!

Image result for robert meachem

Moving to the NFL, ex-San Diego Chargers and ex-New Orleans Saints WR Robert Meachem was jailed today for owing $400,000 in child support. Another one of the NFL’s supreme role models. :\

Image result for victor cruz

Also in the NFL, the New York Giants announced the releases of WR Victor Cruz and RB Rashad Jennings, yesterday. Cruz will forever be remembered by the Giants for his breakout to lead the team to a Super Bowl XLVI victory. (And for his salsa dancing, of course.) Jennings on the other hand, leaves no legacy behind in New York, and I was jumping for joy when I saw that he had been released. RB Paul Perkins controls the backfield until the Giants draft a RB in May. Cutting those two players saves the team $10 million in cap room, which will likely go toward paying DE Jason Pierre-Paul, who the team is, reportedly, emphasizing re-signing before he hits free agency in March.

Image result for romance

“Romance is thinking about your significant other, when you are supposed to be thinking about something else.” -Nicholas Sparks, Author

In honor of Valentine’s Day or National Singles Day. I don’t have a lot of experience (six months maximum, if that’s what you would call it) with romance. I will say this: it’s weird to think that last year on this day I thought I had found my Valentine, while this year I have no doubt in my mind that it’s National Singles Day to me. However, clearly this quote carries some validity to it. I’m still thinking about my former “significant other” when I should be focused on ANYTHING else, even if Valentine’s Day/National Singles Day is mostly responsible for the subject coming up. Also, last year at this time I was thinking about basing my college decision on my Valentine at the time. That, likely, could’ve been the worst decision of my life! Even though I still feel that my college decision wasn’t totally mine, I feel that I ended up with the right college decision by not following my then-Valentine. They say love is blind, but maybe it just makes YOU blind to everything else. Anyway, I hope you all find romance on this day, and on many days to come. I’m told it’s a wonderful feeling.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on the Serge Ibaka trade and/or on the Kevin Love injury and/or on Valentine’s Day and/or on National Singles Day and/or on New York Knicks vs Charles Oakley and/or on the University of Connecticut women’s basketball team and/or on Robert Meachem and/or on the New York Giants releases and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower because I won’t ban you like Dolan banned Oakley. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

One thought on “Serge Ibaka Trade, Kevin Love Injury, Charles Oakley Ban…

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless,
    just wanted to say superb blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

