Some Thoughts: John Ross, March Madness, Future vs Past vs Present

So, I realized that I have been SUPREMELY inconsistent with my posts ever since…a while. So, I wanted to release another post today. I was actually inspired by another friend, who posted on his blog for the first time in a month (for the record, it’s only been five days since my last post…which is…still too long…). He’s got some really cool NBA stuff, so I would HIGHLY recommend checking it out. Anyway, what will I talk about now?…

Image result for john ross football
Photo Courtesy of Sports Illustrated

First of all, University of Washington WR John Ross broke the 40-yard dash record at the NFL Combine yesterday. The previous record (4.24 seconds) was set by RB Chris Johnson in 2008. John Ross’ new record is 4.22 seconds. So what exactly does this mean? Well, in 2008, Chris Johnson was projected as a 2nd-3rd round NFL Draft pick heading into the 2008 NFL Combine. After his record 40-yard dash, CJ2K ended up becoming a 1st round NFL Draft pick. John Ross was already projected as a 1st round NFL Draft pick going into the 2017 NFL Combine. So, my projection is that John Ross moves up in the 1st round, from the 14th-18th overall NFL Draft picks (as projected by NFL.com analysts) to the 3rd overall NFL Draft pick. Why? The 2017 3rd overall NFL Draft pick belongs to the Chicago Bears this season, who just so happen to be parting ways with WR Alshon Jeffrey this offseason. Oh, the Chicago Bears are getting rid of WR Eddie Royal, too. Somebody needs to fill those shoes, as long as they’re Nikes, of course. I bring up the Nike point because John Ross DID NOT win an island for his record-breaking 40-yard dash. John Ross wore Nike cleats, and the offer of the island was through Adidas, so he would’ve had to wear Adidas in order to have won the island. I get the feeling that being the fastest player EVER at the NFL Combine is far superior to winning an island, especially with all of the amazing athletes that have been there over the years.

Image result for march madness
Photo Courtesy of Wikipedia

I can’t believe Selection Sunday is only ONE WEEK AWAY! March Madness is almost OFFICIALLY here. Don’t worry, I will post my bracket here when I have filled one out. I’m waiting for the pool of 68 teams to become final, first. I’m not one of those guys that projects the bracket BEFORE it happens. So, you can expect it to come around next Monday. Anyway, while the bracket has yet to become finalized, the trickle of teams clinching spots to the Big Dance is starting to come in. Here are the teams who have already won their conference tournaments to clinch a spot in the 2017 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament:

Image result for quote

Ben Okri is a Nigerian author. His is a phenomenal writer. I read The Famished Road during my IB years in high school, and it was one of my favorite books that I’ve ever read in school. It was remarkably surreal for one book, and it’s definitely not for the faint of heart. But, if you enjoy thinking when you read, I HIGHLY recommend it. Anyway, in regard to the quote: I like it. I think this quote is a statement about how what we do NOW is so much more important than what we have done in the past. Regardless of the mistakes that we have made in our lives in the past, we can move past them by making the right choices now to succeed in the future (the idea of choice in the past vs the present vs the future also comes up in The Famished Road). So, don’t let people hold define you by what you DID, including yourself. Force people to define you by what you’re DOING and WHERE you are GOING.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on John Ross and/or on the impending March Madness 2017 Edition and/or on the importance of the future vs the past vs the present and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower to make your future greater and filled with my posts. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

One thought on “Some Thoughts: John Ross, March Madness, Future vs Past vs Present

Leave a Reply

