Sociology of Hair

Before I begin, I’d like to mention that Sunday was my two year anniversary of blogging! That’s right, two years ago Sunday I composed my first blog post. As you can tell, my blog has changed a lot since then, mostly due to the fact that I’ve changed a lot since then. I’m a vastly different person now than I was when I started this blog two years ago. Since then, I have gone from high school to college, I have learned how to live independently, I have experienced heartbreak, I have improved as a writer, I have learned how to better express myself, I have grown a very lush beard, etc. I’ll transcribe something a little more retrospective in a day or two, but I want to move on to the topic I came into this post wanting to write about:

So, I was sitting in my sociology class the other day and I was scanning the classroom when it suddenly occurred to me: more guys in the class had curly hair, while more girls in the class had straight hair. That made me curious: Why? When I originally googled it, I got the usual response about how women make up their hair like crazy. I wanted a better answer than that, so I decided to employ some researching techniques I have learned in my Writing class this quarter. I hopped over to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) (if you haven’t tried it or heard of it, you’re now hearing about it and you should try it. It’s like a college library version of Google) and found this article about the sociology of hair.

Image result for hair meme

I didn’t find a definitive answer to my original inquiry, but I did find some interesting research on the perceptions of males and females with various hair colors. I found it so interesting, that I am including it in this post:

Male Perception of Female Hair Colors

  • Redheads: Active Executive Type, No-Nonsense, Physically Unattractive
  • Blondes: Beautiful, Rich, Extremely Feminine
  • Dark-Haired: Good, Intelligent, Familiar

Female Perception of Male Hair Colors

  • Redheads: Good, Effeminate, Timid and Weak
  • Blondes: Attractive, Successful, Happy
  • Dark-Haired: Average

Personally, I found both gender perceptions of redheads to be highly offensive, primarily because I am a redhead. However, the ‘weak’ portion definitely applies to me; I haven’t hit the gym since fall quarter. I also prefer that detailed description to the ‘average’ perception of dark-haired males. Also, I’ve dated a dark-haired girl before and neither ‘good’ nor ‘intelligent’ would necessarily hit the mark. So, I take this research with a grain of salt. It basically comes to the conclusion that a person is only attractive if they’re blonde, and that’s simply not true. Nevertheless, the article was a fascinating read, and I encourage you to take a closer look at it (maybe check out the sections about hair extensions, facial hair, etc). Also, the facial hair portion contradicted the hair color portion; Facial hair is stated to show masculinity (which makes sense since the ‘bearded lady’ is a circus act), which would counter the ‘effeminate’ view of redheads in my case. But, then, I already knew that I am a contradiction in pretty much every way imaginable.

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, make sure to leave a comment on my two year blogging anniversary and/or on the sociology of hair and/or on whatever is on your mind, along with a much appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, become a follower to create your own perception of this redhead. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Sociology of Hair

Leave a Reply

