April Snow, Self-Discovery, Maturity

Image result for maturity quote

I was walking around in the snow today (yes, snow. In Denver. All of the second-to-last day of APRIL) and I started thinking even deeper than usual (there’s just something about the peaceful silence of falling snow that sends my mind into serenity). I was having a conversation with one of my friends about another one of my friends. I told my friend that my other friend had known for the majority of his life that he wanted to be a missionary. My friend’s immediate response was along the lines of, “Why would you want to spend your life making such little money?” The truth is, I’ve always envied my friend’s vision of his future as a missionary. Not for any religious regions, but because he so clearly knew what he wanted to do. I told this to the friend I was conversing with and he said, “It’s better to open your mind.” But, is that even related? At about this point, the friend I was conversing with walked the other direction from me, leaving me alone with my thoughts.

I don’t think that knowing what you want to do means that you close your mind. Rather, I would say that knowing what you want to do means that you close your heart. That may sound kind of pessimistic, but that’s not my intention. Let me try an analogy to explain this: knowing what you want to do (or not) is like relationships. When someone is searching for love, the term that’s frequently used is, “They leave their heart open.” So, when someone finds their significant other and marries that person, that would mean that their heart closes. But, marriage is not a bad thing. In fact, the reason someone opens their heart is to close it for good. It’s weird to think about, right? But, when you know what you want to do, your heart closes. In the meantime, someone who is searching for what they want to do leaves their heart open to different possibilities for their future. And, like in relationships, leaving your heart open to search for your purpose can begin to hurt after a while. The pain comes from societal expectations. Most people have others in their life that expect them to know what they want to do and expect them to get married. Eventually, they adapt these same expectations and they internalize them. It’s amazing to think about how few people are doing EXACTLY what they, as individuals, want to be doing. I’m spiraling now. My point is this: my friend and I are both right. It’s great to leave your options open, but there is also great benefit to committing. In my opinion, part of growing up is learning to commit.

My perspective there deeply intrigues me. I often get complimented by others about how mature I am for my age, but I am very immature in the sense that I just described. I am terrible with commitment. That’s a result of a few different scenarios, I suppose. Sometimes I just don’t know to what I want to commit, and sometimes I don’t commit the way I should (meaning, I either work WAY too hard or I don’t work NEARLY hard enough). This leads me to wonder: Exactly what constitutes maturity?

Does April snow make May things grow?

When did you find out what you want to do? How?

When have you opened/closed your heart/mind?

How do you define maturity?

That’s all for TheHaysWay today, I would love to hear your responses to the questions above along with anything else that is on your mind. Please leave a much-appreciated like. If you are not yet a follower, open (or close?) your heart and become a follower. 🙂 Have a pleasant tomorrow and may the force be with you.

One thought on “April Snow, Self-Discovery, Maturity

  1. Always keep an open heart AND an open mind. That is maturity. Being married is the greatest gift of love that fills your heart, but doesn’t close it to others in your life that you love in different ways…..parents, siblings, Grandparents, life-long friends and children yet to be born. It all ties in to happiness, which has no bounds and is a never-ending path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

